Longing for Redemption

The past week I’ve been considering changing the name on my blog. “The Extended Thoughts of a Twitter Addict” has a certain ring to it I suppose, but it largely misses what I hope to capture here. Any addiction I had to Twitter has largely subsided (though I still use the social network periodically), and while they are my words, the thoughts to which they compose are hardly about me.

Screen Shot 2014-01-23 at 9.26.17 AM

Though not always explicitly, my writing is saturated with Christ and how He is working the world. I’ve always found it difficult to narrow what I see Christ doing or how I seem Him working to some key phrase or idea, but as I contemplate the person of Christ and the trajectory He has for his followers, I’ve come to realize that He is in the process of redeeming a people to himself–reconciling them from sin to saved, from death to dance, from hopelessness to hallelujah, from ruin to rejoice, from lost to life. If anything, redemption is the rallying cry of this blog, and I only thought it pertinent to make that more evident.

The song above is “Worn” by Tenth Avenue North. I don’t have a favorite band per se, but lyrically this group has to be one of my favorites. I really appreciate their song (and video). The longer I live and the more I experience life, the more I long for redemption to win–ultimately in the return of Christ when

He will dwell with [us], and [we] will be his people, and God himself will be with [us] as [our] God. He will wipe away every tear from [our] eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away. (Revelation 21:3-4)

The chorus above captures that yearning–

Let me see redemption win
Let me know the struggle ends
That you can mend a heart that’s frail and torn
I want to know a song can rise from ashes of a broken life
And all that’s dead inside can be reborn
Cause I’m worn

Author and blogger Sarah Bessey beautiful captures the theme of redemption in her writing. She explains:

God has a global dream for his daughters and his sons, and it is bigger than our narrow interoperation or small box constructions…it’s bigger than our frozen in time arguments or cultural biases, bigger than our socioeconomics (or lack thereof), bigger than marital status, bigger than our place, bigger than all of us–bigger than any one of us.

The beauty of this bigness is that is it small–down to each life. God’s vision is a call to move forward into the future in the full operation of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control, with a fearlessness that could only come from him.

Wherever there is injustice or oppression, anything less than God’s intended purpose from the dawn of Creation, our God has always set his people on the trajectory of redemption. The Cross is the center of this story–Christ and him crucified; the gospel is always glad tiding and great joy for all mankind. And now, we live and move in that truth and goodness; we live unveiled, and we are prophets and ambassadors of the God way of life (Jesus Feminist 26).

This isn’t any sort of argument about the Eschaton and the millennium, just the yearning of the people of God as Jesus calls us forward in life and in history, to follow Him in redemption and care for the “least” of these, be a voice for the voiceless, and send His message across the globe.

And so I long for redemption, to see the world made right again and Christ incarnate. I long to see the oppressed set free, the patriarchy smashed, the abuse and trafficking end, racial profiling eliminated, the poor cared for, the proud humbled, and the humble exalted. We live in the tension of the Now and Not Yet Kingdom of God, knowing that Christ has worked redemption on the Cross but we long to see it complete.

And what a day that will be!

Come Lord Jesus; come soon!

Leave a Reply

