A Video to Watch: The Awe Factor of God

This is one of my favorite videos. It is what brought me profess faith in Christ.

In February of 2008 we watched a Francis Chan podcast about the love of God. If I remember correctly, it was part of a series of podcasts that would eventually lead to the writing of Crazy Love. The video above is a clip from one of those podcasts.

At the time, I had been going to my church’s youth group for well over 2 years and sporadically attended church there on Sunday mornings as well, although sometimes just to spend time with my then girlfriend. If you would have asked me, I would have told you that I was a Christian and that I believed all the right things, but this video marked a changing point in my life. With this video is when I began an awe for God; I was amazed that a God so infinitely large and magnificently powerful would care enough love lowly me. I realized in not so many words that if God cared for me, it ought to demand a response.

And so, with no prayer or confession or any notable ‘transitionary’ action, I started following Jesus that day. And there is not a single day I regret it.

One thought on “A Video to Watch: The Awe Factor of God

Leave a Reply

