Wait, Bottomless Peace too?

While most of my blogs deal with some sort of lesson or moral, this will be more of an honest thought on what I am processing now. My last blog post was about patience and how we are able to be patient because God, the essence  of patience, has fully given Himself to us. More specifically, I talked about how God empowered me to be patient and to model patience to kids and young adults while in intense full-time children’s and youth ministry this summer. Moving forward though, I find that it is not patience that I need to be acutely aware of, but peace.

Coming home was a little terrifying. I was leaving a clear daily routine and an immediate network of support to step into a world of unknowns again. Not only is it unclear what this final semester will look like, but there are so many unknowns following graduation in December.  It is easy for me to panic about what life will look like in the near and distant future.

Lately, it seems as though God is calling me back to Logan. What is terrifying is that I don’t know for how long, I don’t know what He wants me to do there, and I don’t know what kind of friends I would make in that community. At this point, it is easy to panic and be worried about what God has in store for me, but that completely goes against the very theology I tried to model this summer. If God is patience, then God is peace as well, and from Him I can have bottomless peace.

So for those few who read this, would you please be praying for me as I not only try to model peace that comes from God, but also pursue the plans that God has for me in the coming months.

For now, let me leave you with this:

“So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” –Matthew 6:31-34

One thought on “Wait, Bottomless Peace too?

  1. Trev, this is awesome and something I really needed to hear/read today! I will definitely be praying for you as this adventure and journey comes quickly!

Leave a Reply

